Pegasus Constellation

What is the Pegasus constellation

Pegasus, also reffered to as the Flying Horse Constellation, is the fifth constellation in the primary orbital plane of the Milky Way Galaxy. On average, Pegasus ranks fourth when measured by size and mass. It is best sighted during Northern Hemisphere winters, and at times can be seen as a large triangle with its brightest star, Markab.

Pegasus is a winged horse with magic powers. He was born after Perseus killed Medusa. He is also known as the brightest star in the night sky. The name Pegasus comes from the Greek word “pegasos” meaning “having wings”.

Related: Best Start Projectors

How Many Stars Are in The Great Square of Pegasus Constellation

There are 23 stars in Pegasus constellation. The brightest star is Markab, a bluish-white star, which lies 96 light-years from Earth. It has an apparent magnitude of 2.74. There are three other stars in Pegasus with a magnitude over 3, while the rest of the stars are visible only through telescopes. Of course there are also some galaxies like M31 (Andromeda) and Triangulum Galaxy which you can see on the night sky. The square shape of the Pegasus Constellation is a really amazing. It’s definitely worth pointing out on your next trip to the outer space.

Related: Taurus Constellation

How Big Is the Pegasus Constellation?

Pegasus spans 1,121 square degrees of sky, ranking it the 21st largest of the 88 constellations. It is bordered by Andromeda to the north; Pisces, Delphinus, Equuleus and Vulpecula lie to its east; Aquarius is to its south; and Triangulum Australe lies to its southwest. The center of the constellation lies halfway between Gamma Andromedae and Alpha Pegasi, from which it is separated by the distinct asterism known as the Great Square of Pegasus.

Related: Leo Constellation

What Can You See In The Pegasus Constellation?

Markab can be viewed with a small telescope as a double star. Also visible are several galaxies, including the Pegasus Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxy, which is part of the Pegasus constellation.

Pegasus belongs to the Perseus family of constellations, along with Andromeda, Lacerta, Triangulum and Aries.

Related: Orion Constellation

Location of Pegasus Constellation

The Pegasus constellation lies in the fourth quadrant of the northern hemisphere (NQ4) and can be seen at latitudes between 65° and -90°. It is best visible at 9 p.m. during the month of March.

Continue Reading: